WCS Austin Survival Guide

The next WCS Circuit is just around the corner as we prepare to head from Katowice, Poland all the way across the globe to Austin, Texas. In a series of preceding WCS Challenger events, we've seen rising stars from around the world claim advantageous seedings by qualifying via highly-competitive regional events. Now however, it's time for the final event to begin.

In addition to our 16 players from WCS Challenger, 64 additional players will join the fray to compete for their share of the $100,000 prize pool. The event will play out in a series of group stages which whittle those 64 down to just 16, who will then face the WCS Challenger champions. WCS Austin is sure to bring new player stories into the limelight, and will soon crown the second 2017 WCS Champion as well. Below are all the details you need to tune in and start discussing the event!

Blizzard & DreamHack

Austin Convention Center 500 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, Texas 78701

Friday, April 28 – Ro64 – Ro32

  • BST: 10:00 p.m.
  • PDT: 2:00 p.m.
  • KST: 6:00 a.m. (+day)
  • CEST: 11:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 29 – Ro16 – Ro8

  • BST: 5:00 p.m.
  • PDT: 9:00 a.m.
  • KST: 1:00 a.m. (+day)
  • CEST: 6:00 p.m.

Sunday, April – 30 – Semi Finals & Finals

  • BST: 5:00 p.m.
  • PDT: 9:00 a.m.
  • KST: 1:00 a.m. (+day)
  • CEST: 6:00 p.m.

  • Commentator: Geoff 'iNcontroL' Robinson
  • Commentator: Nathaniel 'Nathanias' Fabrikant
  • Commentator: Kevin ‘RotterdaM’ van der Kooi
  • Commentator: Leigh 'Maynarde' Mandalov
  • Commentator: Yoan ‘ToD’ Merlo
  • Host: Sue 'Smix' Lee
  • Host: James ‘Kaelaris’ Carrol

Total Prize Pool: $100,000 USD & 11,000 WCS Points (Total Event)

1st place: $25,000 USD, 3,000 WCS Points, and a direct seed to the WCS Global Finals.

2nd place: $10,000 USD & 1,400 WCS Points

3rd – 4th place: $6,500 USD & 900 WCS Points

5th – 8th place: $4,000 USD & 600 WCS Points

9th – 16th place: $2,500 USD & 300 WCS Points

17th – 32nd place: $1,000 USD

Join in on the conversation about these games here!

Visit the new WCS Website for information on this tournament and others, or to learn more about competitive StarCraft II!